Because some times, I just don't have anything better to do

Starting yet another game

I have to admit that I’m a bit blocked with my new PC game engine (eSage), and the “Cat and Shark” port to the Tandy Color Computer is not really inspiring me (I had actually forgotten about it)

That is why, a few days ago, when feeling a bit bored and finding some time in my hands, I started another project. Let’s call it … “Trench of Death”
Just as “Furious Felines” was inspired by “Angry Birds”, “Trench of Death” draws from another modern classic, “Plants vs. Zombies”, but with a scenario changed from a garden to the Death Star.
I guess that everyone remembers the attack against the Death Star at the climax of the original Star Wars movie. The attacking ships have to go through a long, straight “trench” to get to their final target, while turbolasers and TIe fighters try to shoot them down.

In this game, you’ll have to set the defenses along the trench, to prevent the attacking crafts from reaching their target. The ships will be coming from a trench 10 cells long, were you can place guns at 3 sides.
Each gun will have different cost, a “time to build” and power ratings. After the player selects the type of gun to be installed, they will place it either on the sides of the trench, or at the end, meaning that the incoming crafts will be fired upon from the sides and the front.
I have already coded 10 types of gun turrets for defense, and 8 types of attacking crafts, and done some testing to evaluate the game balance.

So far, I don’t have much to show. I have coded the attacking craft movement routines, and tested it with a squadron of 8 ships. Speed seems to be acceptable even with fake routines added to represent the joystick input and gun firing routines.
Next up, allow the player to select a type of gun, and place it in one of the designated spots.

I hope I’ll be able to do it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

